During my researches over the UNCC library website, I found two interesting articles that potentially match with my question/topic: How is social media and technology affecting relationships. The first article talks “The Role of Social Network Sites in Romantic Relationships: Effects on Jealousy and Relationship Happiness”, wrote by Sonja Utz, talks about how social networks sites and social media have been changing the way people relates to each other. The article was published in July 5th of 2011, which can be considered a pretty new article. Moreover, by being a peer-review article, I could definitely trust on the provided information. Sonja Utz, the respective author of the article, is a respected professor at the University of Amsterdam. There, she graduated in Phycology, and in the past 10 years she is focus on the study of social media affecting people. Reading the article was really helpful for me, since I learned the impacts that social media and social networks sites have couples and people that use those kinds of website to meet new people. It is impressive how social network site have been increasing in a huge fast speed. Definitely, the reading of the article “open new doors” for me, in terms of going deeper on this topic. Questions such as “ why social networks have been increasing so much” and “ why people are not having face-to-face conversation anymore” were examples of questions that I was wondering to know after the reading of the article.

The second article that I found interesting and related to my topic was  “Digital Dwelling: Technology in Couple and Family Relationships”. I chose this article, because I want to know how is technology affecting the relationships not just on the “romance” area, but also on the “friendship”, “family” and “work field” area. By being said, this article talks about how families nowadays tend to spend less time together, due the fact that parents and children are spending more time connected to the internet. The author of the article, Katherine M. Hertlein is a professor of Phycology on the University of Nevada at Las Vegas. By being an recent article and wrote by an professional on the topic, I felt that this article is extremely trustable. Definitely, the reading of the article changed my mind. Knowing that technology are drastically changing relationships over families all around the word, is very sad for me. Katherine made me stop and think about the importance of my family to me. Moreover, families are the principal role on the development of a child. Morals and Values are primary taught by parents, and knowing that technology have been changing this, in parts, is extremely worrisome for me.

After the reading of both articles, I have no doubts that I am on the right path to do my inquiry project. The information that I have learned on the articles, helped me to think about more ideas to my topic. Understanding the research process was the most important thing for me by doing this activity. Learn how to use the library website and consequently, look for good and precise articles/databases/books, would help me not just in this class, but also in future class and projects.

 

Articles Links:

First Article: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com.librarylink.uncc.edu/doi/10.1111/j.1083-6101.2011.01552.x/abstract

Second Article: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com.librarylink.uncc.edu/doi/10.1111/j.1741-3729.2012.00702.x/full

Leave a Reply

